#citiesmustact

A solidarity campaign by Europe Must Act

CitiesMustAct est une nouvelle campagne audacieuse demandant aux citoyens, conseils locaux et maires des villes européennes de s’engager à soutenir la relocalisation immédiate des demandeurs d’asile des îles grecques.

 

Nos précédentes campagnes ont réclamé un changement au niveau de l’UE. De notre interaction avec les dirigeants européens, nous avons appris leur hésitation voire leur incapacité à agir, due à leur perception d’un manque de soutien global des citoyens européens envers les réfugiés. Prouvons-leur qu’ils ont tort!      

Le 30 mars, le maire et les citoyens de Berlin se sont engagés à accueillir 1,500 réfugiés. Nous demandons maintenant aux villes d’Europe de se joindre à Berlin pour offrir un sanctuaire aux réfugiés des camps surpeuplés de la Grèce continentale et de ses îles.

 

Alors que le COVID-19 présente le risque d’une crise sanitaire dans des camps surpeuplés, nous devons agir maintenant pour alléger la pression dans ces camps épouvantables.

 

Bien que les villes n’aient peut-être pas le pouvoir législatif pour relocaliser directement les réfugiés elles mêmes,  #CitiesMustAct enverra un puissant message de citoyenneté solidaire que les gouvernements et l’UE ne pourront ignorer!

Rejoignez-nous pour diffuser la campagne  #CitiesMustAct à travers l’Europe - dès aujourd’hui!              

 

Impliquez votre ville!

S’il n’existe pas déjà une campagne dans votre ville, commencez-en une avec nous aujourd’hui! Voici comment:

Tout d’abord, familiarisez-vous avec Europe Must Act. Nous apprécions l'autonomie et l’autogestion. Nous partageons les mêmes principes fondamentaux et travaillons pour atteindre les mêmes objectifs clés.     

Envoyez un email à onboardme@europemustact.org. Nous organiserons un appel d'adhésion pour nous assurer que vous disposez de toutes les informations appropriées.

Nous créerons ensemble un groupe Facebook lié à la page principale Europe Must Act. Ce groupe sera important pour que d’autres personnes trouvent et rejoignent la campagne de votre ville. 

Together we’ll translate and set up an online petition for the Open Letter and help you spread it in your community. We have template press releases, creative ideas and quite possibly contacts with local NGOs that could get involved!

Vous serez responsable des échanges avec votre communauté locale et demandes pour plus d’action, tels que: impliquer les médias locaux, tweeter votre maire et conseil municipal, envoyer des lettres à leurs bureaux. Nous avons un petit budget pour des publicités ciblées. Nous verrons avec vous s’il est judicieux de booster la campagne pour gagner en influence.        

 

Rejoignez un chapitre

Rejoignez un groupe Facebook local de Europe Must Act

Europe Must Act is a campaign of Action for Education

Donate to support our campaign

#citiesmustact

A solidarity campaign by Europe Must Act

#CitiesMustAct is a bold new campaign asking the citizens, councils and mayors of European towns and cities to pledge their support for the immediate relocation of asylum seekers on the Greek islands. 

 

In our previous campaigns we pushed for change on the EU level. From our interaction with EU leaders we have learned that they are hesitant or even unable to act because they believe that there is no broad support for helping refugees among European citizens. Let’s prove them wrong!

 

On the 30th of March, the Mayor and citizens of Berlin pledged to take in 1,500 refugees. Now we are asking cities and towns across Europe to join Berlin in offering sanctuary to refugees in overcrowded camps on the Greek mainland and islands.

 

As COVID-19 threatens a health crisis in densely overcrowded camps, we must act now to relieve pressure on these horrendous camps.

 

Whilst cities may not have the legislative power to directly relocate refugees themselves, #CitiesMustAct will send a powerful message of citizen solidarity that governments and the EU can’t ignore!


Join us in spreading the #CitiesMustAct campaign across Europe - join us today!

 

Get your city involved!

If there’s not already a campaign in your town or city, start one with us today! Here’s how:

First up, familiarise yourself with Europe Must Act. We value autonomy and self-management. We share the same Core Principles and work towards the same Key Goals. 

Send an email to onboardme@europemustact.org. We’ll organise an onboarding call to make sure you have all the right information.

Together we’ll set up a Facebook group linked to the main Europe Must Act page. This group will be important for others to find and join your city’s campaign.

Together we’ll translate and set up an online petition for the Open Letter and help you spread it in your community. We have template press releases, creative ideas and quite possibly contacts with local NGOs that could get involved!

You’ll be responsible for engaging the local community and demanding further action, such as: getting local media involved, tweeting at your mayor and local council, sending physical letters to their offices. We have a small budget for targeted advertising. We’ll discuss with you if it makes sense to boost the campaign to gain more traction.

 

Join a chapter

Join a local facebook group of Europe Must Act
 

Europe Must Act is a campaign of Action for Education

Donate to support our campaign